Campus Travel

Campus Travel

1300 882 021

Academics recognised for outstanding contribution

Home // News // Industry news // Academics recognised for outstanding contribution
Female academic executive

The professional contribution made by a group of Australian academics has been formally recognised as part of the Queen’s Birthday 2017 Honours List.

A vital element of Australia’s social and professional fabric, the honours awards highlight the important work carried out by high-performing individuals that have made a difference in their chosen fields.

This year’s list saw three Vice Chancellors and the University of Melbourne Provost appointed to the Order of Australia (AO).

Griffith University VC Ian O’Connor, became an AC while Swinburne University’s Linda Kristjanson and Peter Dawkins from Victoria University also joined as AOs. The University of Melbourne’s provost, Margaret Sheil was also appointed to AO.

Also honoured in this year’s Australia Day list was Michael Spence, from The University of Sydney, who made an AC, Greg Craven of Australian Catholic University and Deakin University’s Jane den Hollander all made AO status.

There were many more academics across the sector, who were acknowledged for their work. Further details can be found here


Talk to an academic travel specialist today.

1300 882 021